Drafts are for wussies…

4 Jul

Okay, I’m not that mean – better to frame it as: Drafts are not for me.

When I wrote my last post, I started thinking maybe it’s time to actually put some thought into this thing, and do it right. Maybe I should actually stop and think about the whole structure/flow/sentence thing and maybe even write a draft or two before publishing what I often to refer to as random crap.

Except that’s so not me. I enjoy my random crap. And so do my 2 faithful readers. I think.

I generally write stream-of-conscious; whatever comes through my head comes out through my fingertips and magically forms something coherent. Usually. Sometimes I get praise for my style, sometimes I get criticism, other times indifference, and jealousy more than once. Classmates hated that I can hammer out 400 words an hour, get home in time for a kegger and then up to hand it in the next day for a solid B performance with a side of hangover. Probably could have gotten an A, but that would’ve meant at least 2 drafts AND missing the kegger – priorities my friends.

The challenge with no drafts, however is that I can digress pretty quickly – the skillful part is bringing it back on topic without most people actually realizing you’ve gone off the rails a wee bit. Drafts just don’t allow for that – there’s an expectation that the final product be well-formed and perfectly crafted. But where’s the challenge in that?

So you know what, I take it back: Drafts are for wussies.

And if you’re one of the wussies I’ve offended with this post, just say the word out loud a few times. If you don’t laugh a little, you’re far too mature to read my random crap anyway.

2 Responses to “Drafts are for wussies…”

  1. Him & Her July 10, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    I could not agree with you more Birtch… and as far as I’m concerned, the candid stuff is way more fun to read anyway.

    • kerribirtch July 10, 2011 at 1:52 am #

      I should get u a present for being the first comment in over a year 😉 Dutch Dreams on me next time!

Leave a comment